Denmark’s new Social Democratic prime minister names government


Mette Frederiksen, Denmark’s new prime minister presents the new Danish government outside the doors of the Amalienborg royal palace in Copenhagen, Denmark June 27, 2019. Ritzau Scanpix/Mads Claus Rasmussen via REUTERS

COPENHAGEN (Reuters) – Denmark’s new Social Democratic prime minister on Thursday presented her team of 20 ministers which includes former member of the European Parliament Jeppe Kofod as foreign minister and Nikolaj Wammen as finance minister.

Kofod has headed the Special Committee on Tax Crimes, Tax Evasion and Tax Avoidance in the parliament and been a vocal critic of a major money laundering scandal at Danish lender Danske Bank.

Denmark will become the third Nordic country this year to form a leftist government after Social Democratic leader Mette Frederiksen agreed terms for a one-party minority government earlier this week.

Reporting by Stine Jacobsen; Editing by Alison Williams

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

U.S. lawmakers challenge Facebook over Libra cryptocurrency plan
Big donor Steyer’s presidential run could deny millions to other Democratic races
Second 2020 Democratic debate to feature Biden-Harris rematch
BMW promotes Oliver Zipse to CEO
Hong Kong actor Simon Yam stabbed on stage in China

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *